Model/Actriz Shares New Single “Amaranth”

Model/Actriz Shares New Single “Amaranth”

Brooklyn based noise four-piece Model/Actriz shares 'Amaranth', the third single from their debut LP Dogsbody out 24th February via True Panther.

he Needle Drop praised their single “Crossing Guard,” saying the full length “may be one of my favorite records of the year if all the tracks are as much of a weirdo banger as this one is,” while The FADER called recent single “Mosquito” “volatile [and] pummeling.” Elsewhere, the band has been earning critical acclaim from Pitchfork, Nylon, Stereogum, BrooklynVegan and many more with comparisons ranging from Throbbing Gristle to “if Talking Heads played the Bushwick underground circuit” (PAPER).

“Amaranth” was inspired by gabber and frontman Cole Haden’s process of transcribing his past journals while writing the album; it speaks to epiphanic moments following distance and new perspectives that come with personal growth. Haden says, “I see this as an upward spiral song. It is the redemption arc. It is this album’s answer to the function of “Memory” from "Cats the Musical.”

Dogsbody is a deftly-produced coming-of-age album with a mix of feral noise, pop and ambient stylings. Inspired by everything from the repetition in electronic music to the screeching sounds of NYC’s subway system, the album is a violent ode to the explosive joy of being alive, exploring love and loss with steadfast convictions highlighted by Haden’s intoxicatingly raw vocals. Dogsbody is co-produced and mixed by Seth Manchester (The Body, Battles).

Model/Actriz is Haden (vocals), Jack Wetmore (guitar), Ruben Radlauer (drums), and Aaron Shapiro (bass). Together, the band performs an intensity in their work that resembles a rubber ball approaching vibrational frequency bouncing between the points of extremes: joy and violence, humor and nihilism, flirtation and effacement. Model/Actriz is a special conjuring of gray areas without a whiff of indecision, with their debut album arriving this month.

Model/actriz . 'Dogsbody' Album Artwork
Model/actriz . 'Dogsbody' Album Artwork

Dogsbody Tracklisting

1.     Donkey Show

2.     Mosquito

3.     Crossing Guard

4.     Slate

5.     Divers

6.     Amaranth

7.     Pure Mode

8.     Maria

9.     Sleepless

10.  Sun In

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy Terms and Conditions