The Ways Apps Are Going Stealth Mode To Steal Your Data

The Ways Apps Are Going Stealth Mode To Steal Your Data

Social media ghosting refers to when an app or website sends out automated messages without your knowledge. It’s happening more often than ever before.

Apps and websites that send automated messages without your consent are called “ghosters.” They’re becoming increasingly popular because they allow people to communicate in ways that were previously impossible. But ghosting has also become a problem for users, especially those who feel pressured into responding to messages.

Here’s how to protect yourself from it.

Ghosting is a growing issue among social media users. In fact, some apps and sites are sending out automated messages without your permission. These messages are known as “ghosting.”
The term “ghosting” refers to the practice of unfriending someone on Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Twitter, etc., without warning them first. Some people use the tactic to get back at exes or friends who have wronged them. Others simply want to avoid awkward conversations.

Know what data apps have access to.

If you use any type of social media platform, there’s a good chance you’ve been ghosted at least once. This means that you didn’t receive a notification from a friend or family member who posted something on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Snapchat, etc. You might not even realize that they sent you a message until months later.

Ghosting happens because people feel uncomfortable sharing personal information online. The problem is that most apps collect user data without telling users what they’re doing with it. That means that if you share too much information, you could be giving away private details about yourself. For example, if you post pictures of your kids on Facebook, you could be exposing them to predators. Or if you tweet about your job search, you could be revealing sensitive company information.

Check privacy settings regularly.

Ghosting happens because people aren’t aware of how much data apps collect about them. They think that they’re only sharing what they want to share with friends and family members. However, apps are collecting everything from your location to your browsing history to your phone number.

Turn off location services.

If you use any social media platform, turn off location services. This will prevent apps from tracking where you go and using that information to send you targeted ads. You can also delete your account entirely.
Location services are one of those things we never think twice about turning on. We assume that if we want to see what our friends are doing, we should be able to track them via their phones. However, there are many reasons why you shouldn’t enable location services. For starters, it allows apps to know exactly where you are at all times. That means they can target you with ads based on where you are. And if you’re worried about privacy, you can always opt out of being tracked altogether.

Delete apps you don’t use.

Ghosting has become so common that some people even call it “ghosting.” In fact, there are now apps that do it automatically. They track your movements and then send you automated messages with no explanation.
The app called Ghostery tracks what websites you visit and which ones you block. When you open one of those sites, Ghostery sends you a message letting you know what ads were served. If you want to stop receiving those messages, you simply click on the button that says “Stop Ghostery.”

Read Next
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.
Cookie Policy